My word for the Week

So… My word for the week from Faith Sharing is Humor. That is a good word I thought, however after looking at the readings for Sunday I thought to myself, I don’t see anything humorous in these readings. I decided to look up the word using the Oxford American Dictionary, and was a bit discouraged at first as my first inclination was that this word just means funny or comical. But, getting to the last definition under <Special usage> adapt or accommodate oneself to (something). I thought to myself, ah, this is the how it will apply to the readings for this week.

Ok, now that I have my word it’s time to look at how this meaning applies to each of the scripture readings and they are:

Jeremiah 23:1-6, I quickly noticed  how my word applied . In verse 3, how God says “I myself will gather the remnant of my flock from all the lands to which I have banished them and bring them back to their folds; there they shall be fruitful and multiply”. I thought how the people are being led by shepherds who were leading them astray and scattering them. Then in verse 4, the lord says “I will rise up shepherds for them who will shepherd them so that they need no longer fear or be terrified, and none shall be missing”. Then in verse 5 the last line says,” This is the name to be given him: The Lord our justice.” Now that is a lot of adapting the people have to do! They have been misled, felt lost and now the Lord is giving them justice by leading them back  to better places giving them good shepherds who will lead them well, they will be fruitful and multiply and not be fearful any longer, what a just God he is.

Ephesians 2:13-18, In this reading I noted that from the first few words, “For he is our peace” this a constant in our lives we adapt and accommodate to those who challenge us in our faith, but by our relationship with him, and following his teaching we do have peace.

Mark 6:30-34, In this famous part of scripture in our bible the “Feeding of the Five Thousand” or simply put fishes and loaves.  The last line says, “When he disembarked and saw the vast crowd, his heart was moved with pity for them, for they were like sheep without a shepherd: and he began to teach them many things”. This line says that Jesus’ heart was moved, here is a place that we see where Jesus adapting and accommodating, he is our example, it is what we are to do in our lives.

For study this week in scripture using my word I felt this word connected to humility, by accommodating and adapting to others with humility we show our love to others in similar ways that Jesus did. In reflection, my life and writing this blog , I have noticed that I am adapting my daily activities and time, to spend much more time studying scripture.  For me this is a wonderful process that is allowing me to feel closer to God and my relationship seems more intimate.

Leave a Reply

